Quick and Dirty Chicken Curry

See my friends and fellow bloggers, I can make more than desserts! I made curry, and not just any but a fantastically bastardized chicken curry. But, wait your thinking… what do you mean bastardized? I have always wanted to make my own curry problem is.. I have never made a curry other then a potato one years and years ago.

I have seen them made a number of times on TV shows (Masterchef Australia), and read so many recipes on blogs and food sites it makes my head explode with knowledge. I know the ‘real’ way to make curries it to have fresh whole spices and toast them and then grind them, and well honestly, when I came up with this I was on a budget, and tired, and well feeling lazy but wanted something really flavorful, and I achieved the brief on all the points I was going for. Full of flavor, quick, easy, and all the ingredients are something I always keep on hand, and the best part? It’s even better the next day.

I know, some of you are reading this tossing your arms up in the air screaming and swearing at your monitor or phone as you read this… “this isn’t a real curry” “what is this monstrosity!” “damn Americans!” Trust me, I have prepared myself for an onslaught of comments as to how I ruined a great dish, but hear me out, try this first.

I even further bastardized this dish, I know some of you are thinking, “impossible this is already offensive!” But it’s true, I did. I use the basic boule recipe from Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day to make everything from pita bread to a baguette.  So, my brain started ticking with an idea.  I followed the format to make pita bread, which is no fail perfection and a must try, but what I did was just roll it out thin like a tortilla and brushed it with lightly with olive oil infused with garlic, crush 2 cloves of garlic and place in 1/4 c olive oil and let it sit for 15 minutes before using, and then bake it for 5 minutes at 475°F and it’s the perfect accompaniment to this dish.  Also, fellow blogger @ Rufus’ Food and Spirits Guide has shared a recipe re-post for Naan bread that is simple and delicious, and would go fantastic with this curry as well.

I have made this three times since I first got brave and started pulling spices out of my cupboards and tossing them in the pan, it really is pretty fantastic with Jasmine rice. I hope you give this a shot, really is pretty damn good.

Bastardized Chicken Curry

  • 4 tbsp Curry Powder
  • 1 tsp Ground Coriander
  • 2 tsp Ground Cumin
  • 1/2 tsp Ground Fennel
  • 1 tsp Ground Pepper
  • 1/4 tsp Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1 tsp Kosher Salt
  • 1 small bundle of Coriander, stems only minced
  • 2 tbsp Clarified Butter
  • 1 lb Chicken Breasts, cubed
  • 3 Garlic Cloves, minced
  • 3 Shallots, minced
  • 1 tbsp Ginger, grated
  • 2 tbsp Brown Mustard
  • 2 tbsp Tomato Paste
  • 1/2 c Chicken Stock
  • 1 lb Chicken Breasts, cubed
  • 1 can (14oz) Coconut Milk
  • 1/2 Lime, juice

In a small bowl combine the curry powder, ground coriander, ground cumin, ground fennel, pepper, red pepper flakes, and salt. Stir to combine the spices and set aside.

Wash and pat dry a small bundle of coriander. Chop the bundle in half with one side mostly stems and the other the leaves. Don’t fret if you get some leaves in the stem side it’s not the end of the world you just want to get the majority of the stems as they have a lot of flavor. Tightly bundle the stems together and mince finely, set aside.

Place a large saute pan, over medium-high heat add the clarified butter and brown the chicken, don’t worry if it doesn’t cook completely through this is just to add some color. Turn the pan down to medium heat. Add a tbsp more of the clarified butter to sauté the garlic, ginger, and shallots and saute until transparent.

Add in the spice mix, mustard, and tomato paste. Cook for 1-2 minutes until thick and resembles a paste. Deglaze the pan with the chicken stock. It will simmer out quickly this is just to thin out the paste a bit, stir quickly try and remove the paste from the bottom of the pan, those are the yummy caramelized bits. Add in the coconut milk stirring well to get all of the paste off the bottom of the pan, stir well to make sure all the paste is worked well into the coconut milk and producing a creamy mixture.

Bring the curry up to a simmer and add in the minced coriander stems, taste and add more salt if needed. Simmer over low heat for 15 minutes, taste add more salt if desired. Remove from heat, and stir in the juice of 1/2 a lime. Serve warm sprinkled with fresh coriander, and a side of naan bread and jasmine rice.

Recipe Source: Catalyst Original

2 thoughts on “Quick and Dirty Chicken Curry

  1. Y U NO MAKE CURRY CUPCAKE?!

    No, I’m just kidding (although I’m thinking a curry cupcake would be an interesting, but probably disgusting experiment) – Looks great, and I don’t think there’s anything “bastardized” about it to be honest. The only thing I’d change is replacing the chicken with shrimps, but that’s a personal taste thing. I will say though that curry paste is an awesome replacement for curry powder. One jar of decent paste will last nearly as long – you don’t need much, just a couple of teaspoons per curry or something – the flavour is much more rounded and full.

Comments are closed.