Taco Seasoning

Who doesn’t like tacos?  Well, I don’t like taco’s with ground beef, but I don’t count that.  I just prefer ground turkey or chopped up chicken breasts.  Heck, I even made it with ground chicken once which wasn’t bad, but I like to know what part of the beast I am eating and that left me feeling, a little dirty.  This is super simple and spicy and so much better for you to have on hand then those prepackaged seasonings.

A few years ago we switched to the low sodium type but still had insane amounts of salt, so I have been looking for a homemade version.  I made the original version which had way too much chili powder, and didn’t have that cumin & garlic taste I was looking for, and well.. needed salt.  So, made a few changes and they are reflected below.   Now, getting anyone in my family to try and eat heather, that is a challenge.  I just hope one of them adapt this recipe and enjoy it.  Yep, little brother I am looking at you.

Taco Seasoning

  • 3 tbsp chili powder (I used 1 tbsp chippole powder, and 2 tbsp smoked ancho chili powder)
  • 3 tbsp plus smoked paprika
  • 4 tbsp ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 tbsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tbsp garlic salt
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Combine all in a airtight container, mix.  Store.

When making taco’s use 2 tbsp’s per pound of meat.  I love this for chicken tacos!

 

Adapted: Use Real Butter

