Fajita Mix

I have always wanted to come up with my own Fajita Mix.  First of all the amount of additives and sodium in your standard mix makes this healthy meal quite unhealthy.  I just kept adding spices in small measurements until I got just the right flavor.   I even went out of my way, it wasn’t really, but I made tortilla’s which I haven’t done in years to go along with this meal.  I was more then estatic with the results of it all combined.

I also added the recipe with chicken, mind you doing this with beef would also be pretty damn wonderful.  Adding the juice of a lime while it’s reducing is all this needs to take it from good to superb.  Now with my own mixes for tacos and fajita’s I am quite happy knowing that I get the flavors of packaged mixes but with out all the added chemicals and salt.  A great addition to any family who is looking to make a family favorite healthier.

Fajita Mix

  • 3 tsp Cumin
  • 3 tsp Oregano, preferably Mexican
  • 2 tsp Kosher Salt
  • 1 tbsp Black Pepper
  • 2 tsp White or Red Pepper
  • 3 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 3 tsp Onion Powder
  • 1/8 tsp Cayenne Pepper
  • 1/4 tsp Smoked Paprika

Mix in an air tight container and store.  Use 1 tsp of mix per 1/4 lb of meat, or to taste.

Chicken or Steak Fajita’s

  • 1/2 lb Chicken or Steak, in 1″ slices
  • 1 tsp Olive Oil
  • 1/2 Onion, in 1/4″ Slices (Red or White)
  • 1 Bell Pepper, 1/4″ Slices (or combination of Red, Green, Yellow)
  • 2 tsp Fajita Mix
  • Juice of a Lime
  • 1/4 c Chicken Stock or Water
  • 4 Fajita Size Tortilla’s
Place a sauce pan over medium heat.  Add in the olive oil and when hot add the meat.  Cook until golden brown 10-12 minutes.   In a small cup combine the lime juice and stock(or water).    Add in the fajita mix to the chicken, mix to coat.   Add in the vegetables and lime juice mixture.  Immediately cover and leave covered for two minutes.  Remove the lid and stir the mixture, continue to cook with lid off until all the liquid has cooked out.   Heat up the tortilla’s in the oven or microwave, and serve with warm fajita’s.  Serve and enjoy.  Makes enough for two or 4-6 taco’s.
2 thoughts on “Fajita Mix

  1. I’m so glad you posted this. As you can probably guess, I’m not a health nut, for lack of better word. But I love fresh food, hate processed stuff and too much sodium. Those packets are always way too salty. I always just sort of wing it, with what’s on hand. I like the idea of making a mix ahead of time. Sorry to ramble, you struck a chord!

Comments are closed.