Chicken Caesar Salad

This is one of those meals that is pretty much standard in around 90% of restaurants, and homes.   I tend to make it at home a lot because it is quick, filling, and I typically have all the ingredients on hand on any given day.  Yet again my slight obsession with Masterchef Australia inspired the idea for change in this dish.  This is something that both of us would buy for lunch so when I make it at home I want to try to do something new, with more flavor, and fun.

In season two, Donna Hay took another look at the caesar salad adding her own style to it and I was intrigued.  The idea of just cutting the cos lettuce (romaine) in half and dressing it seemed so different.  Taking my marinade for the chicken, I wanted to add her spin on the lettuce.  What it did was take a typical caesar salad to whole new and fun place, which is a welcome change to a fairly common salad.  In the below recipe I added the marinade for the chicken, but over all it is a very simple and quick meal.

The croutons were just left over pieces of baguette that I brushed lightly with garlic infused olive oil.  It is actually quite a simple task to achieve for adding that garlic toast flavor with out all the butter and salt of a typical garlic toast.   Just crush one garlic clove in a two tablespoons of olive oil and let it set for 10-15 minutes.  Brush on the bread and toast in a pan or in oven until lightly golden brown.    The dressing is just actually Annie’s Naturals Organic Caesar Dressing which is my favorite caesar dressing and I have tried a lot, this is the best I have come across. I added around 3 tbsp of the dressing to a bowl and thinned it out with cold water adding just a few teaspoons at a time until it was the constancy of a heavy cream.  This made the dressing flow down in between the layers of the lettuce, but did not sacrifice on flavor.   The chicken is a quick marinade, that you can do hours ahead of time or just minutes before.   If nothing else I would suggest trying your next caesar this way.  I cannot tell you how much it changed this fairly typical salad to fun meal that we just enjoyed immensely.


Chicken Caesar Marinade

  • Juice and Zest of a Lemon
  • 2 tbsp Olive Oil
  • 1 Garlic Clove, minced
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1 1/2 tsp Pepper
  • 1 tsp Tarragon Fresh, minced, or 1/2 tsp dried
  • 1/2 lb chicken (around 3 thighs or 2 breasts)
In a ziplock bag or medium bowl combine the juice, zest, oil, garlic, salt, pepper, and tarragon.  Toss to combine.  You have the option to divide and thin the chicken. I would trim each breast in half around 1/2″ at the thickest point, and thighs into three pieces no more then 1/2″ thick.  Add in the chicken and toss to coat.  Let marinade in refrigerator for 10 min and toss the chicken again.  Let sit for another 10 min or till ready for use.    The longest I would suggest letting it sit is 4-6 hours.
When ready for use place a sauce pan over medium heat.  Once the pan is hot, add the chicken and let it cook for 5-10 minutes, depends on thickness.  Once a nice golden color turn and cook on the other side for another 5-10 minutes, depending on thickness.   Remove from heat and wrap the chicken in foil, let rest for 10 minutes.  Cut or serve in whole pieces.
Makes two servings
One thought on “Chicken Caesar Salad

Comments are closed.