Sugar Cookies

I wanted to work on my cookie decorating skills, and I wanted to make something different.  I mean blogs right now are flooded with flowers, baby farm animals, and eggs.   Since I have been on this hardcore anime kick lately I wanted to make a decorative hand fan. Originally I wanted to make one like the woman in the anime I was watching when I came up with the thought.  However, ADD kicked in and I wanted to make one that was pretty and elegant like the ending in Bleach with the cherry blossoms.  I am sure at this point I have lost most of you after the word anime, so back on track.   I decided to go with the fans with cherry blossoms on them.  I also have been tossing this idea around on sketch paper for Oriental Lily cookies using my snowflake cookie cutter.  I went and did both.   I did two versions of the fans, one with trim and one with out.  I like both but would love to get some feedback on what you think.   The lilies aren’t exactly what I imagined.  I think the idea is right but I just need to find the right cookie cutter.  Well more excuses to sit around sip coffee and surf the web right?

As far as the cookie and frosting are concerned, they are both amazing and the recipes are below.  I am quite sure that this is my go-to sugar cookie now. Want to know how I know? I ripped the other ones out of my note book, this one is that good.  It is light, sweet, the almond adds a almost richness with the vanilla.   The royal frosting allows for a beautiful presentation with the cookie, but if rolled out thicker (note in the recipe) then frosting the cookie with a buttercream is better then the ones you see in the stores around holidays.   I do recommend that you make some cookies.  First of all, they are so yummy and who doesn’t like sugar cookies?  Secondly, ever see how many cookies cutters are in some kitchen stores?  The one near me has a wall full of cutters.  So, sugar cookies can be for any reason other then holiday.  Make any occasion fun and cute!

Sugar Cookie (roll out)

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) Butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup frosting (powdered) Sugar
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Paste
  • 1 tsp Almond Extract
  • 1 tsp Lemon Zest
  • 2 1/2 cups Flour
  • 1 tsp Salt

In the bowl of a stand mixer add the butter and sugar, cream until fluffy 3-5 minutes.  While that is working in a small bowl add the egg, vanilla paste, almond extract, and lemon zest.  Scramble to mix and set aside.   Sift the flour and salt into a bowl or on parchment paper, whichever makes it easier to add into the mixer, set aside.

By now the butter and sugar mixture should be really fluffy and pale.  Add in the egg mixture and mix to combine.  Once combined turn the mixer to low and slowly add in the flour.  Once all of the flour has been incorporated, turn the mixture onto a surface lightly dusted with powdered sugar.  Form the dough into a 8×8 square about half an inch thick.  Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for one hour.

At the point when you are ready to roll out your cookies we are going to be using frosting or powdered sugar in the place of flour to dust your work surface and rolling pin with.

Preheat oven to 370°F.

Lightly dust your work surface with powdered sugar.  Place 1/3 of the cookie dough onto your work surface, put the remaining dough back into the refrigerator for later use.  Roll out to 1/8″ to 1/4″ thick.  I found that if you are going to be using Royal Icing, 1/8″ thick cookies are quite sufficient.  If you are going to be using a buttercream or soft frosting, then 1/4″ thick is much better suited.

Cut the cookies out into desired shapes.  Place on baking sheet, about 2″ apart.   Bake for 10 minutes.

Cool the cookies completely and frost as desired.

Royal Frosting

  • 4 c Frosting Sugar
  • 3 tbsp Meringue Powder
  • 4 tbsp Water
  • 1 tbsp Lemon Juice

Combine in a stand mixer and whisk until tripled in volume and fluffy.  Add more water as needed, this depends highly on weather, adding no more then 1 tablespoon at a time.   You will have to scrape down the sides many times while mixing until fluffy and thick.

Divide into air tight containers.  Use color as desired, I like the gel colors, a little goes a long way in the stark white frosting.  Place an air tight lid on any frosting not immediately using.

Fancy Flours has a great step by step for decorating.

Adaptations: Sugar Cookies & Royal Frosting

One thought on “Sugar Cookies

Comments are closed.