Almond Toffee

I have been a little on edge lately while job hunting, and baking is what helps me unwind.  It is like therapy for my stressed nerves.   Stirring a pot of boiling hot liquid sugar or whipping up a perfect swiss meringue frosting is as calming to me as yoga, actually more so.  My mind is focused and doesn’t wonder at any little noise or slight  distraction.  It is just going through the steps of baking, the measurements, the numbers, conversions.  I am a science and math geek at heart.  Probably why I take to baking and candy making so well.   Lately, I am on some kind of super sweet kick I usually bake once, maybe twice a week.   This is out of my norm, but I have not satisfied my sweet tooth yet.   After one bite it just wasn’t what I was looking for, and I am done with it and on to the next recipe.  I cannot find just exactly “what” I am looking for, so my poor husband and his co-workers are stuck with all these sweets.

This toffee is amazingly good, it was given to me by a family friend this past holiday.  Words cannot say how good it is, but yet again just not what I was looking for.   It is easy and this only makes a small batch, great for holiday toffee.  If you have a candy or oven thermometer that you can attach to the pan this is the simplest candy recipe you will ever find.  I recommend giving it a try.   Keep this recipe for a holiday or special occasion treat it is amazing, and it is very easy to remember as well. The simplicity of it is what makes it so nice to keep as a favorite, and it is quite easily doubled or tripled. However I think recipe in original quantities this makes just enough.  I hope you enjoy!

Almond Toffee

  • 1 cups butter
  • 1 cups white sugar
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1  cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup finely chopped almonds

On a cookie sheet place a silpat. If you don’t have a silpat you can use parchment paper.   In the center of the silpat, spread 1/2 cup of the chopped almonds to the center and spread out in a thin layer, and set aside.

Over medium heat in a 3-5 quart sauce pan with a heavy bottom, combine the sugar, salt, vanilla and butter. Once the butter is melted and the sugar is well combined let it come to a boil. Insert your candy thermometer and occasionally stir while it comes to 300°F, once it reaches temperature remove from heat.    Note:  If you over mix it while it is coming up to temperature it will split and you will get a layer of butter over the caramel, so be careful not to over stir while cooking, just do it frequently enough that you don’t scorch the bottom of the pan.

As soon as the toffee reaches the proper temperature, pour it out onto the prepared baking sheet covering the almonds.  Let it set for 30 seconds. Sprinkle the chocolate over the top of the toffee and let it set for two minutes to melt.  Spread the chocolate into a thin even layer once it is melted. Spread the remaining almonds over the chocolate, and press down into the chocolate slightly.   Let it cool for 1 hour.

To break up the toffee.  Hold over the cookie sheet and hit the toffee with the back of a knife into desired pieces.  Store in an air tight container, at room temperature.

Recipe given by family friend

One thought on “Almond Toffee

Comments are closed.