Quick Chocolate Mousse

Both of us were having a massive chocolate craving, so I glanced around in my fridge and freezer to see what I had.  I peaked my head out of the kitchen and shouted “mystery box challenge!”  Yeah, that was a Masterchef Australia reference.    I’m a big dork, but at least I acknowledge it and don’t even try to hide it, it’s what makes me awesome!   This was just one of those dishes that I was in almost shock of when it was completed.  Mostly because it really tasted just that amazing.  It took longer for me to figure out what to do almost giving up before I knew exactly what to make.

So after poking around and pouting for about 10 minutes.   I ended up pulling out a package of Pastry Puff: Shells, some bitter-sweet ganache left over from earlier in the week, and some heavy cream.  I knew exactly what I wanted and the total time took, 30 minutes from “what the hell should I make?”  to “omg this tastes amazing!”   Just imagine if you precooked the shells, and then you could whip this up for company in 10 minutes, and impress the hell out of them!   Seriously get a chocolate fix in a few minutes of work, yep… totally worth it.    I added the option to add gelatin or not.  If for immediate consumption omit the gelatin, if for later use, add in the gelatin and refrigerate.  Both methods work well and both produce a fluffy rich, quick chocolate mousse.

Quick Chocolate Ganache Mousse Cups
(Makes 4 Servings)

  • 4 Puff Pastry Shells, Cooked
  • 1 c Heavy Cream
  • 1/4 c Frosting Sugar
  • 2/3 c Ganache, room tempature
Optional:
  • 1 tsp Gelatin
  • 1 tsp cold water
  • 2 tsp boiling hot water

Make the puffy pastry shells according to directions on package.  After baked remove the tops and set aside for garnish.

In a medium size bowl add the heavy cream and whip until it is just starting to get thick, add in the frosting sugar.  * Note below * Continue whisking until it is just barely starting to hold it’s shape when you lift the whisk out of the bowl.  Add in 1/2 cup of the ganache and whip until stiff peaks form, and the mixture is a constant color.    Set in the fridge to chill while you prep the shells.

Put the remaining ganache into a small piping bag.  In the bottom of each pastry shell, pipe a thin layer of ganache.  On each of the caps pipe a dolop of the ganache.   Any remaining ganache add to the bottoms of the cups or use to decorate the plates.

Take the mousse out of the fridge and you can either spoon into the cups or place in a pastry bag and pipe it into the shells, filling to the top and slightly over to give a very full look.  Place the cap on the top of the mousse and decorate as desired.  I dusted with powdered sugar, and drizzled chocolate sauce.

Note:  If you are not going to use the mousse immediately I strongly suggest using gelatin in the recipe as follows.  Dissolve 1 tsp of gelatin in 1 tsp of cold water and let set for 5 minutes, add 2 tsp of boiling hot water to completely dissolve, add the the cream mixture by slowly pouring in after all the frosting sugar has been mixed in but before the ganache.  Complete recipe as above.

Inspired by: Alton Brown

6 thoughts on “Quick Chocolate Mousse

  1. Wonderful, fast mousse, I just love how you have ganache “hanging around” in the house 😀 That sort of stuff wouldn’t last 2 days at mine!

Comments are closed.