Vanilla Bean Ice Cream & Dark Chocolate Sauce

I know you are thinking, “What!? Ice cream without a machine? You woman, are insane!” Ok so you’re not thinking that exactly but I am nothing if not eccentric and quirky. So, however true that may be, I might add that I have quite an affection for vanilla bean ice cream, and even though most of the store bought varieties are made with dried flavorless seeds that have had the flavor sucked out and are there for mostly looks.  I love to see the speckles of vanilla goodness.

If you have followed me for even just a bit or looked back at my posts, I have a chocolate ice cream that doesn’t require a machine.  Our tiny apartment has a kitchen the size of cubicle, i just cannot afford the space for an item that would get only seasonal use.   I found a chocolate no ice cream maker ice cream, and made it into a mocha and rocky road, now modified into vanilla ice cream happiness.

Originally I had bought ice cream to go with my tart tatin.  I picked up a brand that claimed to have only 5 ingredients.  Of course a first trial of a mini tarte tatin with the ice cream was good but really it tasted like iced milk with a cheap extract.  I was not happy with it at all and however good and just delicious that tarte was, the ice cream ruined it.  I was not going to be happy until I had it perfect – another fun little quirk about me, I can be a little pedantic.

So with my ever quick wit and ever-growing desire to do things my way, I took that recipe and made it into vanilla bean dream ice cream!  By infusing the beans of the two pods with the extract, it made such an intense vanilla flavor that is hands down the best damn vanilla ice cream I have had.   So here ya go, 4 ingredients to awesome vanilla ice cream (no machine required!) I have ever had.

Also, my home-made chocolate sauce!  Super easy just takes 10 minutes and lasts for 2-4 weeks sealed and refrigerated.

Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Makes 1.5 Quarts

  • 2 cups Heavy Cream
  • 1 can (14oz) Sweetened Condensed Milk
  • 2 Vanilla Bean (Mexican preferred)
  • 1 tbsp Vanilla Extract (Mexican preferred)

In a small cup or measuring cup add the tbsp of vanilla extract the the seeds of two vanilla bean pods, mix to combine and set aside to let the flavors marinade for 5-10 minutes.

In a large 3 quart microwave safe bowl add the sweetened condensed milk and microwave for 15 seconds to just loosen the milk up.  Add the vanilla mixutre and stir to combine and set aside.

In the bowl of your stand mixer, add in the cream and whisk on medium high until soft peaks form.  Keep VERY careful watch on the cream at this point, and let it get to a medium peek stage.

With a large balloon whisk, add in a large dollop of the cream into the milk mixture and whisk to lighten.  Fold in 1/2 of the remaining whipped cream into the milk mixture until incorporated.  Once that is mixed in add the remaining and pour into a lidded freezer proof container(s).   Place in freeze for 8+ hours to set.

Dark Chocolate Sauce
Makes 1 – 1 1/2 cups

  • 3/4 c Water
  • 3/4 c Sugar
  • 1/4 c Vanilla Sugar
  • 1/2 c Dutch Processed Cocoa Powder
  • pinch of salt

In a 2 quart sauce pan over medium heat, combine the water, sugars, and salt until well combined and all the mixture is wet.  Add in the cocoa powder and bring to a boil.  Once it begins to boil, set a timer for 5 min.  Once the 5 minutes is up remove from heat and let cool in pan for 20-30 minutes before transferring to the storing container.  Will keep in the fridge for 2-4 weeks, if you can let it last that long.

Inspired by: David Lebovitz

3 thoughts on “Vanilla Bean Ice Cream & Dark Chocolate Sauce

  1. YUM!!!!! I am in the same situation- no room for an ice cream maker- I’m excited to try this out- and the sauce sounds amazing too! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

Comments are closed.