Polvorónes

Until recently I had no idea what a snickerdoodle was.  Thanks to the power of Google I found a recipe that had a high rating, and over 1,000 reviews of it on a site that had ‘all’ kinds of ‘recipes’.  I figured why not give it a try, and honestly I have never been more disappointed by a cookie in my life.  It was just so basic, it had no depth and the flavors were bland bland bland. To me it had no reason to have that many positive reviews.  I was determined to make it better.

I started thinking back to when my family would take road trips in the summer. During our trip we would always stop at this restaurant in Yakima, WA that had the best barbacoa tacos and these cookies!  Oh man these cookies were amazing!  We would get like a dozen of these heart-shaped cookies with a fine cinnamon and sugar-coating.  It was the texture that really made them stand out to me.   It is so rich and crumbly, yet very delicate.  It wasn’t really overly sweet and had a nutty flavor that still stands out to me.

It took a bit of research and trial and error.  Ok, mostly it was me swearing while I threw batches in the trash, but I finally had the perfect cookie!  When the winning batch came out of the oven I was so excited to share them with everyone, but mostly my husband who never had one.   He had only had snickerdoodles which I vow to never make those horrible little disks of fake flavor again.

It only took one bite of this cookie to take me right back to the long car trips to Colorado.  Me and my brother fighting over  who’s on who’s side while my mom drove and grandma sat in the passenger seat doing cross-word puzzles.  It made me happy and sad all at the same time, and made me realize that I miss my family.   I am going to keep these cookies as a tradition when I get a family to make and take on road trips, and when I finally get back out to Seattle, I am going to make these for my mom and brother.

Since I have gotten so used to doing all my recipes in metric now, I love it.   It makes them so much more consistent each time you make them, but also very easy to remember.  This cookie recipe I made to be very simple and easily halved or doubled easily.  I added both imperial and metric in the recipe.  That way you can decide which way to go, since it is just very minor differences that really are off by just grams.  I also of course used a heart shape cookie cutter because that is the shape they were when we would by them so that is more for nostalgia then anything.  You can use any cookie cutter you want, but the cookie should still be fairly thick.

I wish I could express to you how happy these cookies make me.  Because of the memories it brings with each flavorful bite, but how just great the recipe turned out.  If you like snickerdoodles, or just the flavor combination of cinnamon and sugar, make these.  Make them, make them right away.  They are better than any snickerdoodle you have ever had in your life, and you will never go back to your old recipe. Enjoy!

Polvorónes

Makes 12 to 15 Cookies

  • 2 c + 2 tbsp (220g + 2 tbsp)All Purpose Flour, Toasted
  • 1 c (200g) Unsalted Butter, room temperature.
  • 2/3 c (80g) Confectioner’s (Frosting) Sugar
  • 1 c (100g) Almond Meal/Flour
  • 1/4 tsp All Spice
  • 1/8 tsp Ground Cinnamon

Sugar Dusting

  • 1/2 c (60g) Powdered Sugar
  • 1/2 c (100g) Sugar
  • 2 tsp Ground Cinnamon

Preheat oven to 325°F.  On a large cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, sprinkle flour over the paper and bake for 25 minutes.  Every 5 minutes stir the flour around to even out the cooking.

Spread the flour over the parchment on a cookie sheet

After 25 minutes is up transfer the flour to a large plate to cool. It will be almond in color and have a nutty flavor.  Toss with a fork every few minutes to help cool down faster, or place in refrigerator but still toss to help cool.   Do not use until completely cool.  Once the flour is cool, measure out 2 cups and sift, set aside.  The remaining flour will be used to dust your work space.

The flour should take on a toasted almond color when finished

Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or a silpat.  In the bowl of a stand mixer combine the butter and powdered sugar until pale and fluffy.  Add in the Almond meal and the spices.  Once combined slowly add in the flour until completely combined.   Transfer the dough to a lightly floured work surface.  Shape the dough into a ball, use any of the remaining toasted flour as needed.  Roll the dough out lightly until 3/8′” to  1/2″ thick.    Cut out your cookies, and place on your cookie sheet.  The dough is dry but soft, so I suggest using an angled spatula to help lift and place the cookies on the sheet.  Leave about 2″ around each cookie.  refrigerate any unused dough between baking.  Bake for 25 min.

A half batch only made 6 cookies. Make sure you roll them out thick before cutting.

Note:  While the cookies are baking, combine the sugar dusting and mix to combine.  You will need a sieve at the ready for the moment the cookies come out of the oven so what I found was the easier was to line the sieve with parchment and place the sugar mixture on top of the parchment.  So when you are ready to sift over the hot cookies, just slide the parchment out easily and dust the cookies.

When the 25 minutes on the cookies are up, remove from the oven and immediately sift the sugar mixture over the hot cookies very generously.  You may want a helper to take the cookies out so you can dust immediately.  Remember this mixture will need to dust all the cookies so be generous yet leave enough for the others.

Let cool completely before moving the cookies off the parchment or silpat.   Repeat the process with any unused dough.  Makes 12-15 cookies depending on the size of the cookie cutter used.    Store in air-tight container for up to two weeks.  If you can make them last that long!

Inspired by: Polvorons

10 thoughts on “Polvorónes

  1. I completely agree that Snickerdoodles are completely over rated and I refuse to make them, as well. I will try these — but I’m not familiar with almond meal/flour. Where can I find it?

  2. these look great, remind me of Mexican “wedding cookies” called Pan de Polvo. I will make these but I will grind my own cinnamon stick, it adds a much different cinnamon taste that is AWESOME in cookies! Thanks!

  3. I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  4. Pingback: Christmas Cookie Roundup | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  5. Just found your blog… these cookies and the story behind are so sweet.. I love anything with hearts and the cinnamon snickerdoodle-improved cookie sounds so delicate:) I’d like to try these this Christmas..

Comments are closed.